Rena Sakellaridou studied architecture in Thessaloniki, (Dipl. Arch AUTh), in Vancouver (MArch UBC) and in London (PH. D Bartlett School of Architecture and Planning UCL). She is Professor of Architectural Design at the School of Architecture AUTh. She practices architecture with emphasis on large scale complex projects, writes about architectural composition, studies creativity and teaches design. Her books: Sea Voyage. Photography Erieta Attali, Hatje Cantz, Berlin (2019), Mario Botta. Architectural Poetics, Thames and Hudson, London (2001 in english) / (2000), Rizzoli (in italian).

Rena Sakellaridou and Morpho Papanikolaou are founding partners of SPARCH (, with offices in Athens and Thessaloniki, Greece. Rena Sakellaridou SPARCH PC is her independent architectural office based in Athens.


One of the most highly acclaimed architectural offices in Greece, SPARCH and RS SPARCH, the only architectural office in Greece to have received three distinctions by the Hellenic Institute of Architecture, have received international recognition and have been extensively published; the curator for the Cyprus Pavilion at the Venice Biennale in 2006, have received more than 26 prizes in architectural competitions, among which 13 first ones. Their work has been exhibited in 37 exhibitions, such as at the Venice Biennale, Milan Triennale, DAM Frankfurt, NAi Rotterdam, RIBA London, as well as in Paris, Montreal, Tokyo, Barcelona and Moscow.


SPARCH and RS SPARCH have been awarded 20 international and national design awards. Among them: Shortlisted in the World Architecture Festival Award 2019, Commendation by the AR MIPIM Future Project Awards 2017, High Commendation by the World Architecture Festival 2008, 2000 Award for Best Public Building, as well as 2008 and 2013 Special Mentions by the Hellenic Institute of Architecture, Aris Konstantinidis 2005 Award, two 2013 and one 2019 Iconic Building Awards by the German Design Council, and Domes 2017 (Hon. Mention) and 2019 “Best Project 2014-2018” Award. They have also been nominated for the 2003, 2009 and 2019 Mies van der Rohe Award as well as for the arcVision Prize for Women in Architecture 2016.

dline cross-b sc-fb sc-tw sc-in ic-refresh ro-rl ro-rr